The Friendly Island Forum
- St.Maarten/St.Martin -

gobeach.com/sxm

| hotels | villas | specials | maps | restaurants | more... |

Newbie here, lots of questions...
Posted by: susan06254 (---.sub-75-194-57.myvzw.com)
Date: March 03, 2008 08:06PM

Hi all - Newbie here with lots of questions. We (3 adults) will be traveling to SXM in early April for our first visit. We're staying at Belair Beach Hotel as an RCI exchange. Is there a FAQ for this board?? Obviously I have all the usual questions... need for rental car, bars, beaches, grocery store, bars, island rum tours, golf, hotel location, live reggae and island music locations, happy hour, etc!! We're 5x visitors to Jamaica, having stayed in All Inclusive resorts; this will be our first Caribbean vacation having to forage for our own food and drink... any and all suggstions welcome. And, thanks in advance!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Newbie here, lots of questions...
Posted by: pat (---.dsl.wlfrct.sbcglobal.net)
Date: March 04, 2008 06:55AM

Susan,

Ask away - many here are longtime SXM vets and there are even some here who live on the island and all will be happy to answer your questions.

St. Maarten(Dutch) St. Martin (French) is not much of an AI island. There's a cute little restaurant at the Belair and the dining all over the island, from extremely inexpensive beach eats to high end restaurants is unparalleled throughout the Caribbean, IMO.

Do rent a car and see the island. Traffic is a pain but start out early in the AM and go the opposite way around the island from the direction most cars are going and you'll see it all eventually without as much hassle and if you do this early in your stay you'll end up with a much better idea of where things actually are located. Not that you would, but don't get caught under the influence, the limits are lower on the French side than most places here at home....better to take a cab ifn you're planning a big night out.