The Friendly Island Forum
- St.Maarten/St.Martin -

gobeach.com/sxm

| hotels | villas | specials | maps | restaurants | more... |

Mullet Bay of Thieves - Robbed by Local Woman
Posted by: maryann (---.proxy.aol.com)
Date: May 20, 2007 05:17PM

I’ve been visiting SXM since 1994. I have never run into a problem but on Saturday May 12, 2007 I was robbed on the beach at Mullet Bay by a local woman who mingled among the crowd with a young boy. They appeared to be just another family at the beach for the afternoon. People were seated on either side of me and the beach was full of visitors as well as local families. At bout 2:30 PM I packed my beach bag and went to rinse my feet. I was within sight of my chair and the local woman was standing along the shore. As I started out of the water, she ran to my chair grabbed all of my things and ran off towards the trees with the boy. I yelled stop her she is taking my bag. Several men tried to catch up with her but she had a car and driver waiting on the dirt road. They took off to the left, toward the French side. The thief had run off with, a small amount of cash, my rental car keys, my prescription eye glasses, key to my room, and rented cell phone. Some kindly tourists drove me to my car rental company, Unity. Michael and Joseph were as always wonderful. They immediately provided me with a new car.