The Friendly Island Forum
- St.Maarten/St.Martin -

gobeach.com/sxm

| hotels | villas | specials | maps | restaurants | more... |

Pages: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: Safety tips.....my view.
Posted by: the blade (---.dsl.wlfrct.sbcglobal.net)
Date: February 20, 2010 10:06PM

my wife and i have been visiting SXM every year since 1998. this march is our last trip. what the SXM 'defenders' don't understand is that there appears to be little (if any) crime prevention (on both sides),,,,,both police forces react. Haven't they ever heard of a 'sting'???? I have read posts where tourists go to the french police and are basically ignored. But if you are nude past Pedros - they sure show up!!!!

Tourists beware - YOU are on your own in SXM - the police are NO HELP - on either side. So you have to be on guard at all times....at the beach watching your stuff, locking/or not locking your car, leaving nothing in your car, etc. to ad nauseum (sp?)....that's a vacation? not for me. I'll spend my 2k _ airfare elsewhere next year.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: papa_smoke (---.woh.res.rr.com)
Date: February 20, 2010 10:36PM

Now, see folks? THAT's what I am talking about. I see posts like the one by the blade all the time. It IS disconcerting to a "newby".

Posted by: GaKaye (---.rcmdva.fios.verizon.net)
Date: February 21, 2010 08:22AM

Papa...

I don't know the Blade (at least I don't think I do), but I DO know Pat. Pat's post was based on years of experience and gave real examples of the reasons for her views on the island. Blade's, on the other hand, cited no real examples for his or her feelings. I'm not criticizing him or her, but I would tend to place more value on the opinions and statements of someone who gives concrete examples for their views rather than just ranting.